Bates Prize 2017

      Nominations are invited from early career researchers for the 2017 Bates Prize. The Bates Prize is awarded in odd years to commemorate Sir David Bates FRS and his pioneering studies of atomic and molecular processes and their role in atomospheric science, plasma physics and astronomy.

Dr Janet Anders from the University of Exeter won the 2015 prize for her pioneering contributions to quantum information theory and its application to quantum thermodynamics.

The Bates Prize shall be awarded to an early career researcher for outstanding research, published within the previous five years on a topic relevant to the below groups;

An early career researcher is defined as an individual in the first 12 years of a research career (allowing for career breaks), e.g. following the award of a first degree.

The prize is a cheque for £500, accompanied by a certificate and there is a plaque which the winner holds for two years.  The winner is expected to also give the Bates Prize talk at the QuAMP conference which will be held in Glasgow at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, from 4-7 September 2017.

Nominations should be sent to and should include an up-to-date CV, a publication list and a justification statement of up to 500 words. The closing date for nominations is 30 April 2017.

Key dates

  • Abstract submission deadline EXTENDED:
    24 July 2017
  • Early registration deadline:
    4 August 2017
  • Registration deadline:
    24 August 2017

AMIG Summer 2017

This conference is in conjunction with AMIG Summer 2017. For more information please visit the conference website here.